Netgear is a tremendously reliable company, which has been in the router industry for an extensive period of time. If you’re a Netgear customer, you are likely familiar with the company’s reliable customer service and fairly simplistic routers. Of course, not everyone is a tech-genius and many individuals will need a bit of assistance, while attempting to reset Netgear router back to its default settings. The good news is that you’ve come to the right place. Within this guide, you will learn precisely how to revert your Netgear router to its factory settings in a pain-free way.
Before attempting to reset Netgear router, you should figure out exactly what the process entails. If you’re not a tech-savvy individual, resetting the router might be an unwise decision. Once the router has been reverted back to its factory settings, all of the credentials and configurations will be deleted and lost. This includes your Internet Service Provider username, password, security keys, ports, and a handful of other details. If it is possible to do so, you should take the time to write this information down on a piece of paper, before performing the rest.
Doing so will help to ensure that nothing is lost and that you’ll be able to retrieve the information easily, if necessary.
The Netgear Router Reset Button
Now, the majority of consumers, regardless of experience and technological skill, will be able to reset a Netgear router, without much difficulty. This is the case, because Netgear has simplified the process to the minimum. With the mass majority of their new routers, a convenient Restore Factory Settings button has been added to the bottom, side or back of the product. Although its location will vary slightly from model to model, if you look hard enough, you’ll be able to find it easily. Just remember that the button is recessed into the plastic, so you’ll need a pen, pencil or toothpick to physically push the button and reset the router.
Don’t push the button just yet! For the time being, it is a good idea to locate the Restore Factory Settings button and take its location into account. Also, grab a utensil, which will help you reach the button. Once you’ve completed these steps, you should proceed to the next section.
Process For Most Netgear Routers
Now that you’ve managed to locate the button in question, the hard part is truly over. Once you’re ready to begin, you should follow the steps below.
- Plug up and switch on the router
- Allow the router to fully boot up. This generally takes a minute, but waiting a bit longer is ideal
- Utilize your pen or toothpick to push and hold the Restore Factory Setting button in place
- Hold the button in place for approximately 7 seconds, until the Power Light starts blinking
- Release the button and wait for a bit of time, until the router restarts
- Once the power light has stopped blinking and has turned green or white, the factory settings have been restored
Although this is the most common process, it does vary slightly and differs depending on the router in question. Those that own DGN2000 or DG834Gv5 routers will need to follow the steps below to successfully reset their router.
- Simultaneously press and hold the WPS button and the Wireless On/Off Button, until the Power indicator flashes red. This generally takes 6 seconds
- Release the buttons and give the router time to reset
Other Things To Remember
Once the router has been restored to its default settings, you will need to use the default username and password to reconfigure your router. Generally, these credentials will be admin and password. By looking at the sticker on the underside or back of the unit, you will be able to locate the default network name and pass key, so you can connect to the network wirelessly. For older routers, the network name will revert back to NETGEAR and there will be no password.
Of course, you can now access your router’s administration page and manipulate the settings, as desired.
All in all, attempting to reset a Netgear router truly couldn’t be easier. Just make sure you follow the steps above, take your time and be prepared to reconfigure the settings once everything is said and done.